Winners of the 2022 EAC Bachelor Prize announced

The annual EAC Thesis Prize seeks to identify and recognize talented bachelor students in Denmark and inspire them to explore relevant issues and challenges within Asia-Pacific in the areas of trade, business, economics, and entrepreneurship.

24 June 2022

Photo: Asia House

This year’s winners are Emil August Jespersen and Gustav Beier-Dahl, both from the International Business programme at CBS, with their Bachelor thesis entitled: “Second-hand and the Social Logic of the Luxury Object: Luxury’s second-hand paradox”. 

The winning thesis presents a creative investigation into how second-hand luxury is composing an enlarging fraction of the global luxury market, thus aligning with a trend of sustainability permeating the modern economy. With impressive detail and an exemplary overview the authors of the thesis manage to enlighten how luxury brands potentially could benefit from participating actively in the second-hand market. Interestingly, the thesis also explores how Western European and Asian consumers differentiate in their preferences and response to second-hand luxury goods.

The authors of the most outstanding bachelor thesis are awarded with DKK 25,000 each for their academic achievement and to support their continued interest and pursuits in Asia. 

The EAC Bachelor Prize specifically targets students in the International Business, International Business in Asia, and International Shipping & Trade programmes at CBS. To be nominated, it is expected that the bachelor thesis investigates important business and economic challenges or opportunities; is relevant to Asia; demonstrates relevance for practical application; provides a new angle and insight; is academically solid, includes methodology, theory application and presentation style, and has received a grade of 10 or


The other nominees were: William Thomas Abildgaard Hellensberg and Mads Vistisen Bundgaard for “Risk Management Strategies in Dry Bulk Shipping: An assessment of risk management strategies in dry bulk shipping and how it affects navision shipping and their performance”; Christoffer Paaske and Søren Mathias Nielsen for “Privatization of State-Owned Enterprises in Southeast Asia: A Study of Underpricing in Emerging Markets”; Cindy Deng and Filippa Inés Cervantes Korpe for “Sourcing For A Sustainable Solution: The Competitiveness of Danish Firms Exporting Green Technology to China A Case Study on Faerch A/S”; Theo Lecomte for “Flying Tiger’s Non-Entry Into China: Instances Of Path-Dependency”; Jakob Khoi Pedersen and Yiyang Zheng for “The Green Transition Of China’s Electricity Sector”. 

The winners and nominees were honoured at the EAC Prize awards ceremony and breakfast

reception on Friday, 24 June, at Asia House. Pictured here are the winners with Martin Jes Iversen, Bersant Hobdari, both of CBS, and Susanne Rumohr Hækkerup of Asia House. 

Subscribe to receive Asia House news in your inbox!

Related articles

9 March 2023

Asia House’s Project Manager – Circular Economy in Japan

Our talented colleague, Tine Walravens, is giving a talk on Circular Economy in Japan

5 April 2024

Engaging with China: Frank Tsai’s Talk

Frank Tsai talked at Asia House in front of a full Audience.